And People Wonder Why Scholarly Publishing Is Such An Incredibly Niche Subset

of everything published in this world. I mean, c’mon – who *wouldn’t want to read: “… a study of college students from Finland who had trouble “fully differentiating the core ontology of physical, biological, and mental phenomena.”1 ” Riveting stuff, I tell you what.

And yes, this is the sort of thing I have to read to stay abreast of the literature in my chosen field. Thank goodness I get paid to read it while on the job *g* (sometimes, anyway).

 

1 Lindeman, M., Sveldhom, A., Takada, M., Lönnqvist, J., & Verkasalo, M. (2011). Core knowledge confusions among university students. Science and Education, 20(5-6), 439-451. doi: 10.1007/s11191-009-9210-x;  in Bivens-Tatum, Wayne. “Education Is Not Salvation.” Library Journal. Library Journal, 3 Dec. 2013. Web. 6 Dec. 2013. <http://lj.libraryjournal.com/2013/12/opinion/peer-to-peer-review/education-is-not-salvation-peer-to-peer-review/&gt;.

One response to “And People Wonder Why Scholarly Publishing Is Such An Incredibly Niche Subset

  • Robert

    I was pretty sure I knew the meaning of ontology but looked it up to make sure. Yup. Blogs like yours are the reason I read with a dictionary handy- it makes some people think I might not be stupid. So, win-win, I get validated and you get to educate the rest of us.

Leave a Reply

