I Thought

that was the definition of a democratic republic. Wait – let me check…yup, I was right. The public elects representatives who are empowered to – wait for it – REPRESENT their constituents’ interests.

“The House Republican majority is made up mostly of members who are in sharply gerrymandered districts that are very safely Republican and may not feel compelled to pay attention to broad-based public opinion, because what they’re really concerned about is the opinions of their specific Republican constituencies,”

THAT’S THEIR JOB. Representing their constituencies. I, for one, will actively work to vote out any elected official from my district that doesn’t work to represent my best interests. I’m also pretty vocal about contacting them when they do something I don’t approve of (I try to remember to do the same when they do something I DO approve of – need to be more proactive about that).

 

 

Leave a Reply

