I Remember When Hipster Was Indie, And When Indie Was Alternative, And When College Rock Was College Rock

and I hated them then too. F*&^%$ douchebags.

I say as I’m on a nostalgia-fueled internet video spiral of The Fun Lovin’ Criminals, KottonMouth Kings, BloodhoundGang, ICP, Slayer etc. Good Charlotte just for spite. Lit, well, because. 3rd wave ska because I remember the first 2 waves.

No Pavement. No Beck, Modest Mouse, Sebadoh, Elephant 6, White Stripes, Hives, Asteroids Galaxy Tour or other annoying douchebags. Oh, and Sonic Youth has always blown chunks.  How dare they be lumped in with Gibby Haynes – Kim Gordon is a posing little wench.

Let me reiterate my point. Hipsters, who used to be indie rockers, who used to be college rockers, are douchebags.

Oh, and I’m old.

2 responses to “I Remember When Hipster Was Indie, And When Indie Was Alternative, And When College Rock Was College Rock

  • Wraith

    YOU’RE old? Shit, most of these bands came along WAY after my formative years.

    I was Goth when Goth wasn’t cool, and I now cackle at these young whippersnappers who think being all dark and angst-ridden is The Newest Big Thing. (And they aren’t even doing it right.)

    Ah, you kids today don’t know what good music is. And get off my lawn! 😉

  • Jon

    I dunno – I was metal back long before hair bands, so I figure I came of age when music was still good *g*.

Leave a Reply

