Justification!

For my otherwise regrettable habit of staying up waaayyyy too late, often while reading a book with the TV on and watching a video on my computer, all at the same time. I expect many of my friends do the same thing…

From Psychology Today:

There is thus no indication in any of the ethnographic evidence that any sustained nocturnal activities occur in traditional societies, other than occasional conversations and singing, in these tribes. It is therefore reasonable to infer that our ancestors must also have limited their daily activities to daylight, and sustained nocturnal activities are largely evolutionarily novel. The Hypothesis would therefore predict that more intelligent individuals are more likely to be nocturnal than less intelligent individuals.

Of course, this would mean I am smart and I don’t know that experience bears out THAT hypothesis.

H/T to my lovely wife

Leave a Reply

