Work, or the lack thereof

For the last 6 years I have worked for the Athletics department at an NCAA Division I university. I like it there, rather a lot, and my boss likes me.

All of that notwithstanding, I was told a month ago that this fall my position was being eliminated due to budget cuts. This displeases me.

To be honest, it’s downright depressing. I seem to have far more of my identity tied up in this job and office than I realized and I am not taking this whole thing well. I wouldn’t say I’m clinically depressed, but I’m coping poorly.

To deal with this I am setting myself some goals that will give me things to focus on until I have another job (preferably in my field, and the job hunt is of course first priority).

-Losing weight. The scale didn’t lie to me this morning, so I have it to do. When I have dropped 20 lbs. I will reward myself with starting judo again (after all, I hear it’s cheap and plentiful *g*).

-Getting to the range 3 times per month minimum. Its own reward, obviously. I’ve been slacking on this.

-Getting our out-of-control back yard under control. It’s a lovely place when the shrubbery hasn’t run amuck for too long.

-Ride more.

We’ll see how it all goes.

Leave a Reply

